2022 East Bay Candidate List

Updated: Sept. 14 – NEW! Emeryville City Council, CA15.

2021 Special Election

Emeryville (Nov. 2)

City Council (Choose 1)
Charlotte Danielsson-Chang, attorney
Courtney Welch, policy director

2022 June Primary

Alameda County

Board of Supervisors
District 2 (Hayward-Tri-Cities)
*Richard Valle, supervisor, Alameda County

District 3 (Oakland-San Leandro-Alameda-Unincorporated)
*Wilma Chan, supervisor, Alameda County

District Attorney
Pamela Price, civil rights activist
Terry Wiley, Alameda County assistant DA (filed May 28)
Jimmie Wilson, Alameda County prosecutor (filed Feb 16)

*Gregory Ahern, sheriff, Alameda County
Yesenia Sanchez, division commander, ACSO (filed Apr 13)
JoAnn Walker, police officer (filed Nov 2020)

*Phong La, assessor, Alameda County

*Melissa Wilk, auditor, Alameda County

Treasurer-Tax Collector
*Henry Levy, treasurer, Alameda County

Superintendent of Schools
*Karen Monroe, superintendent, Alameda County


13th District (Oakland-Berkeley-Alameda-San Leandro)
*Barbara Lee-D, congressmember

15th District (Hayward-Fremont-Tri Valley)
Jackie Cota-R
*Eric Swalwell-D, congressmember

17th District (Fremont-San Jose-Cupertino)
*Ro Khanna-D, congressmember

State Legislature

State Assembly
15th District (Richmond-North Oakland-Berkeley)
*Buffy Wicks-D, assemblymember

16th District (Tri-Valley)
*Rebecca Bauer-Kahan-D, assemblymember

18th Assembly (Oakland-Alameda-San Leandro)
*Mia Bonta-D, assemblymember

20th District (Hayward-Tri Cities-Fremont)
Jennifer Esteen, Registered Nurse
Teresa Keng-D, Fremont councilmember
*Bill Quirk-D, assemblymember

25th District (Fremont-Milpitas-San Jose)
*Alex Lee-D, assemblymember

State Senate
10th District (Hayward-Castro Valley-Fremont-N San Jose)
Lily Mei-D, Fremont mayor (filed Apr 14)
Paul Pimentel (filed Jan 2020)
Aisha Wahab-D, Hayward councilmember (filed May 20)
Jaime Raul Zepeda (filed Mar 21)


22 thoughts on “2022 East Bay Candidate List

  1. Thank you for this list. Any chance of some investigative journalism? Have declared candidates filed their required financial paperwork? Do candidates live in the jurisdiction they are running to serve?


  2. At the end of the day, if elected, none of these candidates will actually DO anything to uplift their communities. They will be in perpetual campaign and fundraising mode. None will actually shake up the status quo, especially when they become part of it


  3. Please include 18th assembly district candidate Eugene Canson’s website. He has a compelling Utube presentation, and he is a Health Care Professional. His website is Eugene CansonforCA.com


  4. I, Bob Javits is throwing my never washed baseball cap in the ring, in the race for 18th assembly district. Although I have no education, no job nor prospects, I believe that I have what it takes to clean up Sacramento


  5. I thought Lily Mei was elected to Fremont mayor barely 6 months ago? Just a stepping stone for her… disappointing….


  6. Joel Young who ran an impressive race for AD 18 Assembly seat back in 2012, should run in Special election to fill Bonta’s seat


  7. Rob,

    I can confirm that Morris is running for the mayorship. Morris, while being very dead, is sure that he can do as well. He is using as a model the Trump example of truth telling.


  8. Rumor has it that Morris the Cat has filed papers to run for Mayor of Oakland, he feels that human have failed as Mayors and that its past time that a feline take over


  9. Bitcoin billionaire JoeGotrocks, will find to run for Mayor of Hayward. He believes that he’s the people’s choice


  10. Primary 2022 is in June

    On Tue, Feb 16, 2021 at 4:09 PM EAST BAY CITIZEN wrote:

    > Steven Tavares posted: ” Alameda County Board of SupervisorsDistrict 2 > (Tri-Cities)*Richard Valle, supervisor, Alameda County District 3 > (Tri-Cities)*Wilma Chan, supervisor, Alameda County District Attorney*Nancy > O’Malley, district attorney, Alameda CountyPamela Pri” >


  11. Rob Bonta is rumored to run for Alameda County district attorney, if he does not get the AG nod. I think he would make an exactly choice in either position


  12. John, this is about the safest bet ever made. Short of offering to end Bona’s time, which will likely get you a trip to Pelican Bay you are safe to never have to actually pay up.


  13. Bob, you could always tune it out. There needs to be time for the Repumps to start spending money on their bund. They will have to turn over a lot of rocks to find the White Power, Neo-Nazi, Russian, North Korean, fascist, Right To Life, Blue Lives Matter, Hurray for Texas losers to run for office.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s