2014 CANDIDATES LIST

Register to vote for the Nov. 4 election

*UPDATED FOR NOVEMBER* 
House of Representatives
13th District (Oakland-Berkeley-Alameda-San Leandro)
*Barbara Lee-D, congressmember
www.barbaraleeforcongress.org
Dakin Sundeen-R, IT systems administrator
www.dakin4congress.com

15th District (Hayward-Fremont-Tri Valley)
Hugh Bussell-R, technology manager/educator
www.bussellforcongress.org
*Eric Swalwell-D, congressmember
www.swalwellforcongress.com

17th District (Fremont-San Jose-Cupertino)
*Mike Honda-D, congressmember www.mikehonda.com
Ro Khanna-D, attorney, former U.S. Commerce Dept official www.rokhanna.com

State Assembly
15th District (North Oakland-Berkeley)
Elizabeth Echols-D, presidential jobs advisor www.echolsforassembly.com
Tony Thurmond-D, former trustee, youth education director www.tonythurmond.com

16th District (Tri-Valley)
Catharine Baker-R, attorney www.bakerforassembly.com
Tim Sbranti-D, mayor, Dublin www.timsbranti.com

18th Assembly (Oakland-Alameda-San Leandro)
*Rob Bonta-D, assemblymember www.robbonta.com
David Erlich-R, electrician www.daveforassembly.com

20th District (Hayward-Tri Cities-Fremont)
Jaime Patiño-R, human relations commissioner, Union City www.patinofor20thassembly.com
*Bill Quirk-D, assemblymember www.electbillquirk.com

25th District (Fremont-Milpitas-San Jose)
Bob Brunton-R, former trustee, Ohlone Community College Board www.bobbruntonforassembly.com
Kansen Chu-D, councilmember, San Jose www.kansenchu.com

State Senate
10th District (Hayward-Castro Valley-Fremont)
Peter Kuo-R, small business owner www.kuoforsenate.com
Bob Wieckowski-D, assemblymember www.bobwieckowski.com

Alameda County
AC Transit Board of Directors
Ward 4 (San Leandro-Unincorporated ALCO-Hayward)
Murphy McCalley, retired transportation consultant
*Mark Williams, board director, AC Transit

Ward 5 (Hayward-Newark-Fremont)
*Jeff Davis, board director, AC Transit
Kewal Singh, transit safety administrator

At-Large
Adrienne Andrews, paralegal/student
Dollene Jones, retired bus driver
*Joel Young, board director, AC Transit

BART Board of Directors
District 4 (Oakland-Alameda)
*Robert Raburn, board director, BART www.robertraburn.com
Lena Tam, councilmember, Alameda www.lenatam.com
Larry Lionel Young, Jr., realtor/developer/teacher

Chabot-Las Positas Community College District
Area 2
*Isobel Dvorsky, trustee, CLPCCD
Gene Judson, higher education consultant

East Bay Municipal Utilities District
Ward 3 (Piedmont, Orinda, El Sobrante, portions of Oakland, Richmond, Pinole)
*Katy Foulkes, director, EBMUD Board of Directors
Marguerite Young, corporate accountability director www.young4embud.org

East Bay Regional Park District
Ward 5
Devkumar Gandhi, tech entrepreneur
*Ayn Wieskamp, board director, EBRPD

Oro Loma Sanitary District (Choose 3)
*Timothy Becker, board director, Oro Loma
*Howard Kerr, board director, Oro Loma
Chike Udemezue, financial analyst
Dan Walters, engineer/business owner
Shelia Young, former mayor, San Leandro

Peralta Community College District Trustee
Area 5
David Ralston, city planner/educator
*Bill Riley, trustee, Peralta Community College District

Area 7 (Emeryville, parts of Oakland, Berkeley)
Julina Bonilla, job training director www.julinaforperalta.com
Richard Fuentes, public educator/administrator www.richardfuentes.com

Superintendent of Schools
Helen Foster, school board member, San Lorenzo www.helenfoster.org
Karen Monroe, associate superintendent Alameda County Office of Education

Alameda
Mayor
*Marie Gilmore, mayor, Alameda
Trish Spencer, school board president, Alameda www.trishformayor.com

City Council (Choose 2)
*Stewart Chen, councilmember, Alameda www.stewartchen.org
Frank Matarrese, former councilmember, Alameda www.frankmatarreseforcitycouncil2014.com
Jim Oddie, district director, Assemblymember Rob Bonta www.oddie4alameda.com

School Board (Choose 2)
Solana Henneberry, teacher www.solanaforschools.com
Gary Lym, retired professor www.gary4alamedakids.com
*Michael McMahon, governing board member, Alameda www.mikemcmahon.info

Alameda Heatlhcare District Board of Directors (Choose 3)
*Lynn Bratchett, appointed board director
*Robert Deutsch, board director
*Tracy Jensen, appointed board director www.tracyjensen.com
Jim Meyers, public health consultant

Berkeley
City Council
District 1
*Linda Maio, councilmember, Berkeley
Merrilie Mitchell, community volunteer
Alejandro Soto-Vigil, rent stabilization commissioner, Berkeley

District 4
*Jesse Arreguin, councilmember, Berkeley

District 7
Sean Barry, health communications manager
*Kriss Worthington, councilmember, Berkeley

District 8
Michael Alvarez Cohen, director, innovation development
George Beier, entrepreneur
Lori Droste, educator
Jacquelyn McCormick, small business owner

School Board (Choose 3)
Ty Alper, law professor
*Josh Daniels, school board director, BUSD
Norma JF Harrison, community volunteer
*Karen Hemphill, school board director, BUSD
*Julie Sinai, appointed school board director, BUSD

Castro Valley
School Board (Choose 2)
*Janice Friesen, board member, CVUSD
*Gary Howard, board member, CVUSD www.howard4schoolboard.org 
Dorothy “Dot” Theodore, parent www.facebook.com/dotforcvusdschoolboard

Castro Valley Sanitary District (Choose 2)
*Melody Appleton, appointed director, CVSD
Marc Crawford, real estate management www.crawford4cvsan.com
*Ralph Johnson, board member, CVSD
John Maher, retired transit mechanic
Kunio Okui, certified public accountant

Fremont
City Council (Choose 2)
Syed Iqbal Ahmed, quality engineer
David Bonaccorsi, business owner/attorney
Marty Froomin, IT system administrator
Rick Jones, retired police officer
Nancy Liu (Mei-Fang Liu), translator/project manager
Dirk Lorenz, business owner/florist
Lily Mei, school board member, Fremont
*Raj Salwan, councilmember, Fremont
Rakesh Sharma, president/CEO, non-profit

School Board (Choose 2)
Daxesh Choksi, technology manager
Hiu Ng, retired technology executive
Moina Shaiq, business owner www.moina4kids.com
Yang Shao, life scientist www.shao4schools.com
*Larry Sweeney, governing board member, Fremont www.larrysweeney.com

Hayward
School Board (Choose 2)
*Lisa Brunner, governing board member, HUSD
Marita Cheng, business owner www.chengforhayward.com
*William McGee, governing board member, HUSD www.williammcgee.com

Oakland
Mayor
Jason “Shake”Anderson, communications director www.townmayor.nationbuilder.com
Ken Houston, contractor www.kenhouston4mayor.org
Rebecca Kaplan, at-large councilmember, Oakland www.kaplanforoakland.org
Saied Karamooz, private sector executive www.oaklandmayormovement.org
Peter Liu, businessman/executive
Patrick McCullough, technician/lawyer/entrepreneur
Bryan Parker, commissioner, Port of Oakland www.bryanparker.org
*Jean Quan, mayor, Oakland www.jeanquanformayor.org
Courtney Ruby, city auditor, Oakland www.courtneyruby.com
Libby Schaaf, councilmember, Oakland www.libbyformayor.com
Nancy Sidebotham, tax preparer
Dan Siegel, civil rights attorney www.siegelforoakland.org
Joe Tuman, government law professor www.joetuman.com
Charles “The Chief” Williams, engineering manager administrator
Eric Wilson, nonprofit employee

City Council
District 2
Kevin Blackburn, housing policy advisor www.blackburnforoakland.com
Abel Guillén, trustee, Perata Community College District Board www.abelforoakland.com
Dana King, former television anchor www.danakingforoakland.com
Ken Maxey, director community relations
Andrew Park, department administrator, UC Berkeley www.andrewparkoakland.com

District 4
Jill Broadhurst, executive/finance director www.jill4oakland.com
Paul Lim, emergency management coordinator
Anne Campbell Washington, appointed school board member, Oakland www.annieforoakland.com

District 6
*Desley Brooks, councilmember, Oakland
Michael Johnson, administrator/investor/minister www.hope4oakland.org
James Moore, commercial corridor manager www.jamesmoore4district6.com
Shereda Nosakhare, public policy analyst www.sheredaforoakland.com

School Board
District 2
Aimee Eng
Bo Ghiradelli, engineer/nonprofit CEO

District 4
Karl Debro
Nina Senn, community leader/mediator
Atiff Saleem Shakir, university instructor/educator
Cheri Spigner

District 6
Renato Almanzor, educator/nonprofit director
Shanthi Gonzales, appointed library advisory commissioner, Oakland

Auditor
Len Raphael
Brenda Roberts

San Leandro
Mayor 
Pauline Cutter, councilmember, San Leandro www.paulinecutter.com
Dan Dillman, business owner
Diana Souza, councilmember, San Leandro www.souzaformayor.com

City Council
District 1
David Anderson, Sr., businessman
Deborah Cox, public policy analyst www.deborahforsanleandro.com
Mike Katz, trustee, San Leandro School Board
Ken Pon, certified public accountant www.kennethponcpa.com

District 3
Victor Aguilar, account manager
Allen Schoenfeld, salesperson
Lee Thomas, commissioner, San Leandro Board of Zoning Adjustments www.leethomasforcitycouncil.com

District 5
Leah Hall, community volunteer www.leahhall2014.com
Mia Ousley, financial analyst, San Leandro
Cornia Lopez, trustee, San Leandro School Board www.corinalopez.com

School Board
At-Large
Evelyn Gonzalez, community volunteer www.evelyngonzalezforschoolboard.com
Jeanne Kinkella, retired school teacher www.kinkella.org
Peter Oshinski, child nutrition administrator
Monique Tate, administrative assistant

Area 4
Latrina Dumas, property manager/landlord www.latrinadumas.com
Leo Sheridan, businessman www.voteleosheridan.com
Chike Udemezue, financial analyst

San Lorenzo
School Board (Choose 2)
Steven Kirk, banker/financial advisor
Guillermo Nevarez, substitute teacher
Ronald Pereira II, retired teacher
*Isabel Polvorosa, governing board member, SLZUSD
*Helen Randall, governing board member, SLZUSD
Janet Zamudio, family program administrator

Statewide
Governor
*Jerry Brown-D, governor, California www.jerrybrown.com
Neel Kashkari-R, businessman www.neelkasharki.com

Lieutenant Governor
Ron Nehring-R, small businessman/educator www.ronnehring.com
*Gavin Newson-D, lieutenant governor, California www.gavinnewsom.com

Secretary of State
Alex Padilla-D, state senator, California www.alex-padilla.com
Pete Peterson-R, educator/institute director www.petesos.com

Controller
Ashley Swearengin-R, mayor, Fresno www.ashleyforca.com
Betty Lee-D, member, State Board of Equalization www.bettyyee.com

Treasurer
John Chiang-D, controller, California www.electjohnchiang.com
Greg Conlon-R, businessman/CPA www.gregconlon.com

Attorney General
Ron Gold-R, retired state prosecutor www.rongold.org
*Kamala Harris-D, attorney general, California www.kamalaharris.org

Insurance Commissioner
Ted Gaines-R, independent insurance agent www.tedgaines.com
*Dave Jones-D, insurance commissioner, California www.davejones2014.com

State Board of Equalization, 2nd District
Fiona Ma-D, CPA/taxpayer representative www.fionama.com
James Theis-R, organic foods manager

*-incumbent
D-Democrat
R-Republican
NPP-No Party Preference
PF-Peace and Freedom Party
G-Green Party

Advertisements