Republican Roseann Slonsky-Breault was named
a Trump delegate and is facing Assemblymember
Rob Bonta in the June primary.

Two years ago, Oakland Assemblymember Rob Bonta was opposed by a Republican who suggested an United Nations secret agenda was targeting the region’s life and liberty.

This year, Bonta is being challenged by Republican Roseann Slonsky-Breault, who was named Monday as one of Donald Trump’s three pledged delegates from the 13th Congressional District to July’s GOP National Convention in Cleveland.

Slonsky-Breault is the president of the California Federation of Republican Women, and the only other candidate in the 18th Assembly District race this June.

In one of the most progressive areas in the state, Bonta’s victory is almost assured. He beat Republican David Erlich by 70 percentage points in November 2014. In addition, registered Republicans make up around seven percent of the electorate.

Donald Trump is expected to win
most of Alameda County in June.

But, Slonsky-Breault’s chances for heading to Cleveland as Trump’s delegate is much more likely with polling suggesting the GOP presidential front runner will win California and much of its delegate haul, which is proportioned by congressional district.

However, Slonsky-Breault is not the only Trump delegate running for the Assembly this election cycle. Republican Claire Chiara, also named a Trump delegate, is challenging freshman Richmond Assemblymember Tony Thurmond in the 15th Assembly District.

Although Sen. Ted Cruz suspended his presidential campaign last week, his list of state delegates was also filed Monday. Among notable names is current Republican 17th Congressional District candidate Peter Kuo. His consultant Jason Scalese was the Cruz campaign’s California state director.

Donald Trump
Claire Chiara
Natalie Davis
Roseann Slonsky-Breault

Sen. Ted Cruz
Andres Saks
Alexander Mahoney
Steve Kauzlarich

Donald Trump
Alison Hayden
Eliezer Manalili
Kenneth Yale

Sen. Ted Cruz
Dayna Titus
Kevin McGary
Cheryl Byl

Donald Trump
Luis Buhler
Jayne Ham
Laura Riffle

Sen. Ted Cruz
Ed Riffle
Peter Kuo
Tony Xu