Mayor-elect Pauline Cutter will be sworn-in
Monday, but won’t assume office until Jan. 1.

SAN LEANDRO CITY COUNCIL | The largest class of new San Leandro council members in the city’s history will be sworn-in during a special meeting Monday night.

Four of the seven seats on the City Council will have new members. In addition, to Mayor-elect Pauline Russo Cutter, new council members Deborah Cox (District 1), Lee Thomas (District 3) and Corina Lopez (District 5) will take the oath of office at the San Leandro City Council chambers.

But, despite the swearing-in ceremony, the new members won’t assume office until Jan. 1, 2015, according to the City Charter.

Meanwhile, Mayor Stephen Cassidy, who did not run for re-election last November, wraps up his final month in office. The council will also bid farewell to a pair of two-term members, Michael Gregory and Diana Souza.